Maria Hummel

  • Nous sommes à Los Angeles, dans les hautes sphères du monde de l'art contemporain. Le Rocque Museum se prépare à l'évènement de l'année, le vernissage de la nouvelle exposition de Kim Lord, « Natures Mortes ». Kim Lord est une icône féministe, connue pour ses oeuvres provocatrices et d'avant-garde. Cela fait cinq ans qu'elle prépare ce nouveau projet : une série de onze autoportraits dans lesquels elle incarne des femmes assassinées ayant défrayées les chroniques. Toute la crème de Los Angeles est au rendez-vous le soir du gala, mais la principale intéressée se fait attendre et plus la soirée avance, plus l'inquiétude de l'équipe du Rocque tourne à la frénésie : où est passée Kim Lord ?

  • 'A thrilling mystery... still keeps us up at night, it's THAT good' REESE WITHERSPOON A REESE WITHERSPOON HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB PICK 1 OF 22 NEW BOOKS TO READ THIS SUMMER ( TIME ) 1 OF 20 NEW BOOKS TO READ THIS SUMMER ( ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY ) Kim Lord's face looked back at me, disguised in paint and the features of a murdered woman. Revered artist Kim Lord is about to unveil her most shocking show yet: Still Lives , a series of self-portraits in which she impersonates the female victims of America's most famous homicides, from Nicole Brown Simpson to the Black Dahlia. As celebrities and rich patrons pour into L.A.'s Rocque Museum for the opening night, the attendees wait eagerly for Kim's arrival. All except Maggie Richter, museum editor and ex-girlfriend of Greg Shaw Ferguson, Kim's new boyfriend. But Kim never shows up to her party and the crowd's impatience slowly turns to unease. When Greg is arrested on suspicion of murder, it seems that life is imitating art. Has Kim suffered the same fate as the women in her paintings? As Maggie is drawn into an investigation of her own, she uncovers dark and deadly truths that will change her life forever... Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Emma Cline's The Girls . PRAISE FOR STILL LIVES : 'Reese Witherspoon's new Book Club pick may be her boldest choice yet' Entertainment Weekly 'A gripping and entertaining mystery, and a biting cultural critique that seeks to understand our obsession with the violent deaths of beautiful women' Bustle 'A taut thriller... she writes a hell of an ending' LA Review of Books 'Will have readers feverishly turning pages... It's a stunning achievement' LA Times 'A mysterious page turner' TIME

empty